David


The words that matter most come from somewhere deep. Deep in your core. Deep in your gut. The other stuff matters too. But it’s not what I want.

Tell me the stuff that hangs around the bottom of your soul.

The stuff that wakes you in the morning, and keeps you up tossing and turning at the end of your day. You don’t have to make it fit just so or sound perfect, but tell me. Tell me the stuff that comes calling in the dark middle of a lonely night.

Tell me what you think when you stand at the ocean.

Tell me what hurts more than you thought you could bear. The scrambled confusion you can’t sort through. Tell me.

I love. I love. I love David’s writing.

3 thoughts on “David

    1. Thank you so much. I wrote this after I read something a friend named David wrote about the loss (death) of someone dear to him. It struck me as completely genuine. As you say, we all want that authenticity.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started